Mazapan

Mazapan or as Wikipedia informed our class, Marzipan is a sweet, brittle, delicate treat we also had in class. I have had this before and seen it in Mexican restaurants but used as decor. I was glad to have a class on it to explore its ingredients which were almonds, sugar, and or honey. I remember on my 21st birthday this past November I had visited a Mexican restaurant called Tortaria. The walls were decorated with De La Rosa boxes and other Mexican snacks. I definitely will be revisiting the place because their food was deserves further inspection with my knowledge from this class.

I wanted to find out more about its importance in a more personal context and found this blog post by Norberto Briceno on Buzzfeed. There were plenty of GIFs and he described very perfectly how to unwrap the Mazapan and how important it was to him during his childhood. I find personal articles such as these very informing to find out the meaning of Mexican food and snacks.

De La Rosa Mazapan

Leave a comment